The Overview of WPT India 2018

WPT India 2018

The second edition of World Poker Tour India broke many records in terms of total entries and prize pools as poker enthusiasts from all over the country travelled to the venue to compete in this highly anticipated tournament. In partnership with Adda52, WPT India began on 13th November and concluded on November 19th, 2018 at Deltin Royale cruise ship in Goa.

The thrilling and action-packed poker series featured events in various popular formats such as Bounty, High Roller, Superstack, Shootout, etc. The huge participation of poker players made WPT India 2018 really the biggest live poker festival of the year.

WPT India 2018 Final Results

Date Tournament Winner 1st Prize Runner-Up 2nd Prize
13th Nov INR 20K Kickoff NLH Aditya Sushant INR 9,35000 Abhishek Grover INR 6,49,000
14th Nov INR30K Superstack NLH Abhishek Jalan INR 1,729,000 Pavan Jain INR 1,200,000
15th Nov INR 25K Big Bounty NLH Alok Birewar INR 780,000 Sanjay Taneja INR 549,600
17th Nov INR7K


Sacheen Ramchandani  INR 2,35,000 Mayank Jaggi INR 1,41,000
18th Nov INR20,000 Shootout NLH Pratik Goel INR 387,700 Navkiran Singh INR 236,400
18th Nov INR100,000 High Roller Kalyan Chakravarthy INR 3,753,000 Minissha Lamba INR 2,363,000
19th Nov INR55,000  MAIN EVENT Nikunj Jhunjhunwala INR 6,635,000 Sahil Mahboobani INR 4,653,000

INR20,000 Kickoff NLH

The opening event -NLH 20K Kickoff -ran from 13th to 14th November which drew total 201 entries. The WSOP bracelet winner Aditya Sushant took down the title for INR 9,35000. The second runner-up was Abhishek Grover who took home INR 6,49,000. Adda52 Pro Kunal Patni finished at the 3rd position and earned INR 3,89,700.

INR30,000 Superstack NLH

NLH 30K Superstack which took place from 14th to 15 November found a winner in poker-pro Abhishek Jalan, who outlasted a strong field of 215 entries to win the title and the first prize of INR 1,729,000. He defeated Pavan Jain heads-up who received INR 1,200,000 as the second prize.

INR25,000 Big Bounty NLH

NLH 25k Big Bounty held on November 15 attracted a total of 276 entries. Alok Birewar shipped the title for INR 780,000. He defeated Sanjay Taneja heads-up who earned INR 549,600 prize money.


Sacheen Ramchandani bested a field of 110 entries to win the first prize worth INR 2,35,000 in NLH 7K SHIP IT event, happened on 18th November. He eliminated poker-pro Mayank Jaggi Heads-up for the title. Mayank settled for INR 1,41,000 for his runner-up finish.

INR20,000 Shootout NLH

On 18th November, NLH 20K Shootout was held where Pratik Goel topped a field of 50 entries for INR 387,700. Pratik faced Navkiran Singh in the Heads-up confrontation. He put up an excellent fight and managed to bust Navkiran and clinch the title, who had to settle for INR 236,400 2nd position prize.

INR 100,000 High Roller

Kalyan Chakravarthy claimed the top prize of INR 3,753,000 in the 100K High Roller which was held on November 18. He outlasted a field of 142 entries along with Minissha Lamba heads-up. Minissha finished runner-up and took home INR 2,363,000.

INR55,000 (52,800+2,200) MAIN EVENT

The Event which grabbed the most attention was 55K Main Event which kicked off on 16th November. Total of 697 players competed for the prestigious title and the massive prize pool. The player who battled it out with veteran players for 4-days and came out on top is Nikunj Jhunjhunwala who won the coveted title and the first prize worth INR 6,635,000. Sahil Mahboobani finished 2nd and earned Rs. 4,653,000.

The inaugural WPT India Tournament, held at Deltin Royale in November 2017, was also a great success with more than 1500 entries. The Main Event was won by Poker Pro Vikas Mantri who earned the title by topping a field of 527 players and received the top prize of INR 60,30,000. Other notable winnings were Rajnish Kumar who won the High Roller for the first prize worth INR 36,38,000 and Sundeep Tulsyan who emerged victorious and claimed INR 19,00,000 prize money in NLH Superstack.

We would like to congratulate all winners of WPT India 2018 and wish them all the best in their future endeavours.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *